MUSEUM OF THE MOSCOW KREMLIN ARCHITECTURAL ENSEMBLE

Close

All the pilgrims who visited the Kremlin's shrines would remember forever their climbing to the bell-chamber of the ‘Ivan the Great’. From the bell tier, they could see the whole of the first capital city. It had been that way till 1918 when the Kremlin became a ‘forbidden city’—church services in its churches and bell-ringing in its belfries stopped. Unlike the churches and palaces, ‘Ivan the Great’ didn’t become a museum, more likely, it became an exhibit on the Kremlin territory. Only 90 years later, in 2008 the first visitors entered the renovated Bell Tower. It became a museum, and the key exhibit was the Bell Tower itself, with its unique interior space. 

The museum reveals the history of nine centuries of the Moscow Kremlin—the changes in its boundaries and fortress fortifications, construction and reconstruction of its palaces and churches, many of which are non-extant today. There one can see precious fragments of the Kremlin buildings known only from chronicles, and try to imagine the appearance of the Kremlin churches and monasteries that disappeared at the beginning of the 20th century.

 

Exposition on the ground floor of  the ‘Ivan the Great’ Bell Tower  Through-the-wall stairs of the ‘Ivan the Great’ Bell Tower

The museum presents a synthesis of three expositions which include architectural fragments, selected with the ray of light, are transferred into the electronic exposition as images; highlighted details of the bell-tower interiors; electronic exposition — the projection of the images to the surfaces of the walls, which creates a real architectural space.

First bell ringing tier of the ‘Ivan the Great’ Bell Tower

As the ‘Ivan the Great’ Bell Tower has been the composition centre of the entire Kremlin ensemble for the last five hundred years, it was chosen to house ancient artefacts. Besides, the features of its multi-tier construction allow visitors, like an archaeologist, climb from the lower ‘eldest archaeological layers’ to the upper ones, most similar to our time layers. The organization of space in the Bell Tower has become a model of the Kremlin history.

вид на колокольню с синим небомэтот же самый вид на колокольню

МУЗЕЙ ИСТОРИИ АРХИТЕКТУРНОГО АНСАМБЛЯ МОСКОВСКОГО КРЕМЛЯ

Close

Для всех паломников, посещавших кремлёвские свя­тыни, подъём к колоколам «Ивана Великого» был запоминаю­щимся на всю жизнь восхождением. Отсюда, с ярусов звона, открывался вид на всю Первопрестольную столицу. Так было до 1918 года, когда Кремль стал для православных «закрытым городом» — служба в его храмах и колокольный звон на его звонницах прекратились. В отличие от соборов и дворцов, «Иван Великий» не стал музеем, а, скорее, экспонатом в общем музейном пространстве Кремля, но при этом закры­тым для посещений. Только спустя 90 лет, в 2008 году в отре­ставрированную кремлёвскую колокольню вошли посетители. В «Иване Великом» открылся новый музей, главным экспона­том которого стал сам храм-колокольня, с его уникальным вну­тренним пространством. При этом «Иван Великий» — музей самого Кремля, его девятивековой истории.

Экспозиция на первом этаже колокольни «Иван Великий»Внутристенная лестница колокольни «Иван Великий»

Музей в «Иване Великом» открывает посетителям историю Московского Кремля на протяжении девяти веков: изменение его границ и крепостных укреп­лений, строительство и перестройку его дворцов и храмов, многие из которых не сохранились до нашего времени. Здесь можно увидеть драгоценные фрагменты Кремлёвских построек, известных лишь по летописным упоминаниям, представить себе облик кремлевских церквей и монастырей, исчезнувших в начале XX века.

Первый ярус звона колокольни «Иван Великий»

Впервые Музеи Московского Кремля показывают экспо­наты из своего лапидария. Для этой цели был избран «Иван Великий» прежде всего потому, что он на протяжении последних пятисот лет является композиционным центром всего кремлёвского ансамбля. Кроме того, особенности его многоярусного построения позволяют посетителю, как архео­логу, подняться от нижних, древнейших археологических слоёв к верхним, наиболее приближенным к нам по времени. Пространственная организация «Ивана Великого» становится моделью кремлёвской истории.


top